Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Former prisoners held at Robben Island

I salute you for hard work and sacrifice, you and many others completed a quest of making South Africa a democratic country. I have never been a prisoner before, but I comprehend that it is not a place where every one would aspires to be in, especially during those harsh epoch of Apartheid. Today I declare myself free because of your determined vision and struggle.

Here is the list of some of the former prisoners held at Robben Island. Remember that Robben Island served as a place of banishment, seclusion and imprisonment. But today it is a World Heritage site and museum; it is a heartbreaking reminder to the newly democratic South Africa. Today we salute these people and many others who were not held to prison:

• Nelson Mandela
• Govan Mbeki
• Jacob Zuma
• Autshumato
• Dannis Brutus
• Patric Chamusso
• Laloo Chiba
• Eddie Daniels
• Jerry Ekanjo
• Nceba Faku
• Petrus Iilonga
• Ahmed Kathrada
• Gamzo Mandierd
• Billy Nair
• Langalibalele
• Mosiuoa Lekota
• Mac Maharai
• Chief Maqoma
• Gaus Shikomba
• Makana
• Michael Matsobane
• Jeff Masemola
• Wilton Mkhayi
• Murphy Morobe
• Sayed Adurohman Moturu
• Griffiths Mxenge
• M.D. Naidoo
• John Nkosi
• Mongqawuse
• Maqana Nxele
• George Peake
• John Nyathi pokela
• Walter Sisulu
• Robert sobukwe
• Andimba Toivo ya Toivo


If you h
ave something to say, Clik comment button to add you view.

No comments:

Custom Search